FAQ

What is the VSUZH?

The VSUZH is the official representation of students at the University of Zurich. Membership is voluntary and can be entered into when registering for the semester - or in urgent cases directly with us. The VSUZH is a public corporation: It has its own legal personality and can act independently.

what does the VSUZH do?

The main tasks of the VSUZH are student representation, participation, and the student services related to studying. The VSUZH is committed to the interests of students in education policy; he helps shape the teaching of tomorrow at the university. He represents the students in the extended university management, has a seat on the university council - the highest body of the university - and he represents the students in many university commissions such as the canteen commission, the library commission, the ASVZ and many others. The VSUZH is committed to enriching and improving student life and offers services that make everyday student life easier. In doing so, it makes a contribution to the UZH campus and thus networks the students. The VSUZH is still quite young since it was founded in 2013, and we are constantly expanding our range.

what does the VSUZH want?

The VSUZH gives the students of the University of Zurich a voice! Because only if we have a say can we influence teaching and influence things when it comes to reforms in education and our future. Our education is our future and we have a say in that. The VSUZH makes life easier for students. The university is a jungle, especially at the beginning of ones studies, and the VSUZH helps all students to look through the jungle of rules and regulations. The VSUZH accompanies the students from the first semester days through student life. The VSUZH makes everyday life at the university student-friendly and enables interested parties to implement their own projects and ideas.

Why do I stay a member?

In order to represent the interests of all students, it is important that as many students as possible are members - including you! We want to influence the teaching of tomorrow and today's student life. The more members, the more weight and authority. In addition, the VSUZH offers discounts that are only available to members of the VSUZH. For example, free entry to the cinema screenings at the Filmstelle or cheaper tickets for the theater and concerts with the Kulturstelle.

Why do I get involved?

So that you can implement your own ideas about education, teaching and the university of tomorrow. But also because it's fun. You learn something, implement projects, lead teams, get used to reading into complicated dossiers and negotiate skillfully with representatives of the university. All this in order to implement your ideas for a more sustainable university or better parties for students. If you are committed to the VSUZH, you are not only doing something for yourself, but also for all the other 27,000 students.

Who is behind the VSUZH?

The students are behind the VSUZH: The legislature - the VSUZH council - is elected every two years by all students. The council in turn elects the board - the executive branch - of the VSUZH. The council members also determine the student representation in the various committees. The VSUZH is therefore every individual. We can all determine where to go with the VSUZH.

Why membership fees?

In order to be able to represent you, financial resources for the secretary, website, infrastructure and printing costs are necessary. The services we offer you also mean expenses for the VSUZH. We also support events from other student organizations. Since the board of the VSUZH represents the concerns of the 27,000 students and bears a great deal of responsibility with its commitment, it receives an expense allowance.

What happens to my membership fees now?

The VSUZH is financed through membership fees. According to the VSUZH statutes, these are then used to promote student welfare throughout the university. Under Organization> Administrative> Finances you will find our annual financial statements, which can give you even more detailed insight into what we use our funds for.

The VSUZH also promotes

other student engagement?

Yes, because the VSUZH is the central hub for student engagement at the UZH. Part of the membership fees should go to the study associations to support them in their work. The study associations are, however, organizationally and legally separate from the VSUZH and, according to the University Act, take on student representation at institute and faculty level. The study associations and the VSUZH always strive for the closest possible cooperation. In the future, many events are to be organized by the VSUZH together with the study associations. Specific financial support is also conceivable. The VSUZH also supports student organizations at the University of Zurich. For example, student organizations can use the communications infrastructure or apply for financial support. This cooperation is currently still in the negotiation phase.

Why never-again-without?

After the last established student body was abolished in 1978, the students at the University of Zurich did not have an independent and legitimate student body. After more than 30 years, the time has come again and we never want to be without an established student body ever again, because an active voice is needed at the university to represent us.

Where can I find out more about the VSUZH?

You can find all the most important information on our website. Follow us on Facebook, Instagram and Twitter for ongoing updates - you can find the social media links right here at the bottom of the page. If you have further questions you can of course also contact us by email at info@vsuzh.ch . In addition, the VSUZH board members are available to you personally and by telephone at the office: +41 44 634 21 92

Important resources

 

Downloads

Archive

Contact & inquiries

Social Media

Twitter

Instagram

Facebook

© 2020 University of Zurich Students Association

FAQ

Was ist der VSUZH?

Der VSUZH ist die offizielle Vertretung der Studierenden der Universität Zürich. Die Mitgliedeschaft ist freiwillig und kann bei der Semestereinschreibung eingegangen werden - oder in dringenden Fällen direkt bei uns. Der VSUZH ist eine öffentlich-rechtliche Körperschaft: Er hat damit eine eigene Rechtspersönlichkeit und kann selbstständig und unabhängig handeln.

was macht der VSUZH?

Die Hauptaufgaben des VSUZH sind die studentische Vertretung - Mitsprache und Mitbestimmung - und die studentischen Dienstleistungen rund um das Studienlieben.Der VSUZH setzt sich für die studentischen Interessen in der Bildungspolitik ein; er gestaltet die Lehre von morgen an der Universität mit. Er vertritt die Studierenden in der Erweiterten Universitätsleitung, hat Einsitz im Universitätsrat – dem höchsten Gremium der Universität – und er vertritt die Studierenden in vielen universitären Kommissionen wie zum Beispiel der Mensakommission, der Bibliothekskommission, dem ASVZ und vielen weiteren.Der VSUZH setzt sich für die Bereicherung und Verbesserung des studentischen Lebens ein und bietet dafür Dienstleistungen an, die den studentischen Alltag erleichtern. Er leistet damit einen Beitrag an den Campus UZH und vernetzt so die Studierenden. Der VSUZH ist durch seine Gründung 2013 noch ziemlich jung, und wir vergrössern unser Angebot stetig.

was Will der VSUZH?

Der VSUZH gibt den Studierenden der Universität Zürich eine Stimme!Denn nur wenn wir mitbestimmen, können wir die Lehre beeinflussen und mitreden, wenn es um Reformen der Bildung und um unsere Zukunft geht. Unsere Bildung ist unsere Zukunft und da haben wir ein Wörtchen mitzureden.Der VSUZH erleichtert den Studierenden das Leben. Gerade am Anfang des Studiums ist die Universität ein Dschungel und der VSUZH hilft allen Studierenden, im Dickicht der Regeln und Verordnungen durchzublicken.Der VSUZH begleitet die Studierenden bereits von den Erstsemestrigentagen an durchs studentische Leben. Der VSUZH gestaltet den Alltag an der Universität studierendenfreundlichen und ermöglicht es Interessierten, eigene Projekte und Ideen umzusetzen.

Warum bleibe ich Mitglied?

Um die Interessen aller Studierenden vertreten zu können, ist es wichtig, dass möglichst viele Studierende Mitglied sind – auch du! Wir wollen Einfluss auf die Lehre von morgen und das studentische Leben von heute. Je mehr Mitglieder, desto mehr Gewicht und Autorität.Zudem bietet der VSUZH Vergünstigungen an, die nur Mitgliedern des VSUZH zugänglich sind. So zu Beispiel gratis Eintritte in die Kinovorstellungen der Filmstelle oder günstigere Tickets für Theater und Konzerte mit der Kulturstelle.

Warum engagiere ich mich?

Damit du deine Ideen und deine Vorstellungen über Bildung, Lehre und die Universität von morgen umsetzen kannst. Aber auch weil es Spass macht. Du lernst etwas, setzt Projekte um, leitest Teams, musst dich in komplizierte Dossiers einlesen und geschickt mit Vertretern der Universität verhandeln. Oder aber, damit du deine Ideen für eine nachhaltigere Universität oder bessere Partys für Studierende umsetzen kannst.Engagierst du dich für den VSUZH, tust du nicht nur etwas für dich, sondern auch für alle anderen 27’000 Studierenden.

Wer steht hinter dem VSUZH?

Hinter dem VSUZH stehen die Studierenden: Die Legislative – der Rat des VSUZH – wird alle zwei Jahre von allen Studierenden gewählt. Der Rat wiederum wählt den Vorstand – die Exekutive – des VSUZH. Die Ratsmitglieder bestimmen zudem die studentische Vertretung in den verschiedenen Gremien. Der VSUZH ist also jede/r Einzelne/r. Wir alle können bestimmen, wohin es mit dem VSUZH gehen soll.

Warum Mitgliederbeiträge?

Um euch vertreten zu können sind finanzielle Mittel für Sekretariat, Internetseite, Infrastruktur und Druckkosten notwendig. Auch die Dienstleistungen, die wir euch anbieten, bedeuten für den VSUZH Ausgaben. Zudem unterstützen wir Events anderer studentischer Organisationen. Da der Vorstand des VSUZH die Anliegen der 27‘000 Studierenden vertritt und mit seinem Engagement eine grosse Verantwortung trägt, erhält er eine Aufwandsentschädigung.

Was passiert jetzt mit meinen Mitgliederbeiträgen?

Der VSUZH finanziert sich über Mitgliederbeiträge. Diese werden dann laut VSUZH-Statuten zur gesamtuniversitären Förderung der studentischen Wohlfahrt eingesetzt. Unter Organisation > Administratives > Finanzen findest du unsere Jahresabschlüsse, die können noch genaueren Einblick geben, wofür wir unsere Mittel verwenden.

Fördert der VSUZH auch

anderes studentisches Engagement?

Ja, denn der VSUZH ist die zentrale Drehscheibe für studentisches Engagement an der UZH.Ein Teil der Mitgliederbeiträge soll an die Fachvereine fliessen, um diese in ihrer Arbeit zu unterstützen. Die Fachvereine sind jedoch organisatorisch und gesetzlich vom VSUZH getrennt und übernehmen laut Universitätsgesetz die studentische Vertretung auf Instituts- und Fakultätsebene. Die Fachvereine und der VSUZH streben immer eine möglichst enge Zusammenarbeit an. In Zukunft sollen viele Veranstaltungen vom VSUZH zusammen mit den Fachvereinen organisiert werden. Auch eine zweckgebundene finanzielle Unterstützung ist denkbar.Zudem unterstützt der VSUZH studentische Organisationen an der Universität Zürich. Studentische Organisationen können zum Beispiel die Kommunikationsinfrastruktur nutzen oder einen Antrag auf finanzielle Unterstützung stellen. Auch diese Zusammenarbeit befindet sich derzeit noch in der Verhandlungsphase.

Warum Nie-wieder-ohne?

Nachdem die letzte verfasste Studierendenschaft 1978 abgeschafft wurde, hatten die Studierenden an der Universität Zürich keine unabhängige und legitimierte Studierendenvertretung. Nach über 30 Jahren ist es nun wieder soweit und wir wollen nie wieder ohne verfasste Studierendenschaft sein, denn es braucht eine aktive Stimme an der Universität, die uns vertritt.

Wo finde ich mehr über den VSUZH?

Auf unserer Internetseite findest du alle wichtigsten Informationen. Folge uns auf Facebook, Instagram und Twitter für laufende Updates - die Social Media Links findest du gleich hier unten am Ende der Seite. Bei weiteren Fragen kannst du uns natürlich auch per Mail an info@vsuzh.ch kontaktieren. Zudem stehen dir die VSUZH Vorstandsmitglieder persönlich und telefonisch an der Geschäftsstelle zur Verfügung: +41 44 634 21 92

Wichtige Ressourcen

Downloads

Archiv

Kontakt & Anfragen

Social Media

Twitter

Instagram

Facebook

© 2020 Verband der Studierenden der Universität Zürich