equality

In recent years, gender equality has come more and more into the spotlight and is now an extremely important topic for students, which includes rethinking of the current situation.

Meeting each other on an equal footing is key for the exchange that we learn at the university. There is no place for unequal treatment. The aim is that no one experiences any disadvantages.

The VSUZH equality Commission

To give a quick overview of what we are doing, here are some of the current topics:

  • Why do fewer women than men run for the VSUZH Council?

  • Why do women stand up less for commissions and other organs?

  • Why do women talk less than men during meetings?

  • Why does the proportion of women at UZH gradually decrease among the higher positions?

  • Why are women a minority after the doctoral level at the latest?

  • The higher the position, the more say, influence and decision-making powers. Do women not want that or why are there fewer women with this responsibility?

  • How can this process be counteracted starting in the VSUZH Council?

Would you like to work with us to find solutions to these and other questions? Then you are at the right place!

What do we do?

 

As a student commission, the GSK is actively committed to gender equality at the University of Zurich. Equality means equal opportunities, equal rights and equal participation of everyone in (university) life - regardless of gender, romantic and sexual orientation as well as cultural and sexual identity. Social categories of identity, sexuality, origin, relationships and the body shape us humans and influence social roles. These roles can be very restrictive and are often the source of (structural and individual) discrimination. We want to raise awareness of these issues and take action against discrimination at these levels. We see ourselves as a contact point for students who are affected by discrimination in any way, but also as a place for students who want to get involved in the interests of our goals. To this end, we work together with the Department of Equality and Diversity at the University of Zurich and the equality commissions of other Swiss student bodies.

And what exactly?

 

One of the core tasks of the GSK is the annual Equal Pay Day (EPD) at UZH. For this purpose, stand campaigns are organized in order to make as many students as possible aware of the gender-specific wage differences between men and women. In Switzerland, men earn an average of 14.6% (2016) more salary than women. In other words, after a year of work, women would have to continue to work for 14.6% of the year to get the same wage. The date of the EPD symbolically marks the gender-specific difference in pay and changes from year to year. Assuming men and women get the same hourly wage: Then the EPD stands for the day up to which women work for free, while men have been paid for their work since January 1st. If you want to help with the organization, please write to us at: gsk@vsuzh.ch

You can find more information about the EPD here.

 

In addition, the GSK advocates gender equality measures at the UZH and VSUZH. This ranges from awareness-raising measures (e.g. use of gender-neutral language in public speeches and the administration at UZH) to legal and regulatory measures, such as the uncomplicated change of one's own gender entry (e.g. on the student ID), to direct measures (e.g. Diaper changing tables accessible to all genders in the UZH buildings).

What do we offer?

 

We offer space for debates on current issues as well as current discourses in gender research. We would also like to offer the opportunity to try out and develop your own identity within a protected space.

We publish current dates and events of other associations on the topic of equality on our Facebook page and Instagram.

 

Gender-neutral language at UZH

The gender of a person is not apparent. People can be cis, trans, binary, non-binary, or a-gender. So how do you talk about them?

There are two guidelines for gender-sensitive language available to members of the University of Zurich.

Small glossary

 

Referent_in, Referent*in (possible spelling in german)

cis - person who identifies with the gender assigned at / before birth

trans - person does not identify with the gender assigned at / before birth

binary - person is male or female

non-binary - person is not or not only male or female

asexual - person is outside the gender spectrum

Important resources

 

Downloads

Archive

Contact & inquiries

Social Media

Twitter

Instagram

Facebook

© 2020 University of Zurich Students Association

Gleichstellung

Gleichstellung ist in den vergangenen Jahren immer stärker ins Licht gerückt worden und gehört heute für die Studierenden zu einem enorm wichtigen Thema, welches mit einem Umdenken einhergeht.

Sich auf gleicher Augenhöhe zu begegnen ist zentral für den Austausch welcher wir an der Universität lernen. Ungleichbehandlung hat keinen Platz. Ziel ist es, dass niemand Benachteiligung erfährt.

Die VSUZH Gleichstellungskommission

Um eine rasche Übersicht zu geben, womit wir uns Beschäftigen, hier einige der aktuellen Fragen:

  • Warum kandidieren weniger Frauen als Männer für den VSUZH-Rat? 

  • Warum stellen sich Frauen weniger für Kommissionen und andere Organe auf? 

  • Warum reden Frauen während den Sitzungen weniger als Männer? 

  • Warum verringert sich der Anteil an Frauen an der UZH, je höhere Positionen man sich ansieht? 

  • Wieso stellen Frauen spätestens nach der Doktorierendenstufe eine Minderheit dar? 

  • Je höher die Position, desto mehr Mitspracherecht, Einfluss und Entscheidungsbefugnisse. Wollen Frauen das nicht oder wieso hat es weniger Frauen mit dieser Verantwortung?

  • Wie kann diesem Prozess im VSUZH-Rat beginnend entgegengewirkt werden? 

Du möchtest mit uns Lösungen für diese und weitere Fragen erarbeiten? Dann bist du hier genau richtig!

Was tun wir?

 

Die GSK setzt sich als studentische Kommission aktiv für die Gleichstellung aller Geschlechter an der Universität Zürich ein. Gleichstellung bedeutet Chancengleichheit, gleiche Rechte und gleichberechtigte Teilhabe aller am (universitären) Leben - unabhängig von Geschlecht, romantischer und sexueller Orientierung sowie kultureller und sexueller Identität. Soziale Kategorien von Identität, Sexualität, Herkunft, Beziehungen und Körper prägen uns Menschen und haben Einfluss auf soziale Rollen. Diese Rollen können sehr einschränkend wirken und sind oft Ursprung für (strukturelle und individuelle) Diskriminierungen. Wir wollen auf diese Themen sensibilisieren und uns gegen Diskriminierung auf diesen Ebenen engagieren. Wir verstehen uns als Anlaufstelle für Student*innen, die gleich welcher Art und Weise von Diskriminierung betroffen sind, aber auch als Ort für Student*innen, die sich im Sinne unserer Ziele engagieren möchten. Dafür arbeiten wir mit der Abteilung Gleichstellung und Diversität der Universität Zürich und den Gleichstellungskommissionen anderer Schweizer Studierendenschaften zusammen.

Und was konkret?

 

Zu den Kernaufgaben der GSK gehört die jährliche Durchführung des Equal Pay Day (EPD) an der UZH. Dafür werden Standaktionen organisiert, um möglichst viele Studierende auf die geschlechtsspezifische Lohnunterschiede zwischen Männern und Frauen aufmerksam machen. In der Schweiz verdienen Männer im Schnitt 14,6% (2016) mehr Gehalt als Frauen. In anderen Worten müssten Frauen nach einem geleisteten Arbeitsjahr sozusagen nochmals 14.6% eines Jahres weiterarbeiten, um denselben Lohn zu bekommen. Das Datum des EPDs markiert symbolisch den geschlechtsspezifischen Entgeltunterschied und ändert sich von Jahr zu Jahr. Angenommen Männer und Frauen bekommen den gleichen Stundenlohn: Dann steht der EPD für den Tag, bis zu dem Frauen umsonst arbeiten, während Männer schon seit dem 1. Januar für ihre Arbeit bezahlt werden. Falls ihr bei der Organisation helfen wollt, dann schreibt uns gerne unter: gsk@vsuzh.ch

Hier findest Du weitere Infos zum EPD.

Zudem setzt sich die GSK für Gleichstellungsmassnahmen an der UZH und im VSUZH ein. Das reicht von Sensibilisierungsmassnahmen (z.B. Nutzung genderneutraler Sprache in öffentlichen Ansprachen und der Verwaltung an der UZH) über rechtlich-reglementarische Massnahmen, wie die unkomplizierte Änderung des eigenen Geschlechtseintrags (z.B. auf der Legi), bis zu Direktmassnahmen (z.B. für alle Geschlechter zugängliche Wickeltische in den UZH-Gebäuden).

Was bieten wir?

 

Wir bieten Raum für Auseinandersetzungen mit aktuellen Thematiken sowie aktuellen Diskursen in der Geschlechterforschung. Weiter möchten wir die Möglichkeit bieten, die eigene Identität innerhalb eines geschützten Raumes ausprobieren und entwickeln zu können.

Aktuelle Termine sowie Veranstaltungen anderer Vereinigungen zum Thema Gleichstellung veröffentlichen wir auf unserer Facebook-Seite sowie Instagram.

 

Geschlechtergerechte Sprache an der UZH

Das Geschlecht einer Person ist nicht ersichtlich. Menschen können cis, trans, binär, nichtbinär oder ageschlechtlich sein. Wie also über sie reden?

Den Angehörigen der Universität Zürich stehen zwei Leitfäden für geschlechtergerechte Sprache zur Verfügung.

Kleines Glossar

 

Referent_in, Referent*in (mögliche Schreibweisen)

cis - Person identifiziert sich mit dem bei/vor der Geburt zugewiesenen Geschlecht

trans - Person identifiziert sich nicht mit dem bei/vor der Geburt zugewiesenen Geschlecht

binär - Person ist männlich oder weiblich

nichtbinär - Person ist nicht oder nicht nur männlich oder weiblich

ageschlechtlich - Person ist ausserhalb des geschlechtlichen Spektrums

Wichtige Ressourcen

Downloads

Archiv

Kontakt & Anfragen

Social Media

Twitter

Instagram

Facebook

© 2020 Verband der Studierenden der Universität Zürich